Institute announces new Fellows

January 24, 2022

The Institute for the Study of the Crown in Canada is pleased to announce the election of four new Fellows of the Institute. They are:

Professor John Borrows, Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Law, University of Victoria

Professor Andrew Irvine, Department of Economics, Philosophy and Political Science, Okanagan Campus, University of British Columbia

Dr. Warren J. Newman, Senior General Counsel, Constitutional, Administrative and International Law Section, Department of Justice of Canada

Professor Anne Twomey, Constitutional Reform Unit, University of Sydney, Australia

The College of Fellows has a two-fold purpose:

  1. To recognize distinguished persons who have made major contributions to the study of the Crown.
  2. To associate them with the Institute’s mission of educating Canadians on the Crown.

The four new Fellows, like the eight inaugural Fellows appointed in 2020, are acknowledged authorities on the Crown, with many publications to their credit. The Institute looks forward to their continued contributions to the knowledge and understanding of Canada’s system of constitutional monarchy.

Biographies of the Fellows are available on the Institute’s website.