Our mission

The Institute for the Study of the Crown in Canada has a three-fold mission:

  • To enhance understanding of Canada’s federal and provincial constitutional arrangements and, in particular, the role of the Crown.
  • To broaden knowledge of the constitutional role of the Crown; the impartial head-of-state functions performed by the Sovereign, the Governor General, and the Lieutenant Governors; and Canada’s honours and symbols of authority.
  • To contribute to the legacy of the Rt. Hon. Vincent Massey, Canada’s first native-born Governor General and the founder of Massey College.​

Our history

The Institute for the Study of the Crown in Canada (Institut d’études sur la Couronne au Canada) originated as the Friends of the Canadian Crown. Formed in 2005, this was an informal network of people from a variety of backgrounds interested in promoting knowledge and understanding of the institution of constitutional monarchy in Canada. The Friends of the Canadian Crown became the present Institute in 2014.

The Institute is based at the graduate college founded at the University of Toronto in 1963 by the first Canadian-born Governor General, the Rt. Hon. Vincent Massey. In 2017, Massey College strengthened its links with the Crown when The Queen approved the designation of its St. Catherine’s Chapel as the third Chapel Royal in the country and the first-ever interdenominational one. This chapel, symbolizing reconciliation, is associated with the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation.

The Institute commissions studies and papers dealing with the constitutional, historical, and institutional reality of the Crown in Canada. It seeks alliances, associations, or liaison status with viceregal offices; appropriate public policy and governance institutes; Indigenous organizations; academic and general publishers; and parallel institutions in other countries with similar constitutional arrangements. The Institute is a resource for further studies in this area, as well as making available recognized scholars and other spokespersons in the field of the constitutional Crown.